Tuesday, November 4, 2014

...on elections

This will be my only political common sense comments for this election (even though I am dumbfounded about what I see).  First and foremost, i am so glad it is almost over because I want to get back to regular TV. Thank god for DVR. I am going to list my common sense points to make it even easier to understand:


  1. If you ever thought your vote counted, you better get out and vote today because it does count on NON presidential elections. If you can remember grade school, where you learned about the electoral college and how we "engineered" voting during horse and buggy times; it has not changed!  Fortunately, this does not happen on midterm elections and we use the popular vote (actually counting everyone's vote). 
  2. Make your decisions one way or the other based on your own research NOT the 15 second commercial you saw!
  3. If Tom Foley really did not pay income tax for the last two years (as you have been seeing in the commercials), you can be sure he did not make income, reported a loss or legally followed the rules the IRS and the state laws that are followed.  The same way you write off your interest on your mortgage or declare your kids to adjust your gross income level.  If he didn't take advantage of all these "loopholes" or THE TAX LAW as I call it, he would be an idiot and I wouldn't want him to be a Governor. 
  4. If you think Connecticut is in great shape, you are either smoking crack or have been living in a box for 4 years. Drive down the main street in any town and look at all the for rent signs that have been up for 4 years.  Real estate sales are hit or miss and values are still too low.  The stock market is no longer an indicator to a thriving economy!
  5. Why can't a politician be the guy everyone aspires to be.  The guy everyone loves and doesn't cheat on his wife, steal money, loves his family, works hard, is successful and tells it like it is-----because that guy wants nothing to do with the ridiculous political landscape we live in. This guy or gal (kk) is in the wealthy private sector job.  When you finally get a someone who has achieved this level of success and wants to enter the political environment we should embrace them, not talk about their wealth and success like its a virus!
  6. Don't you want the guy running your town or state to be a huge success?  A guy that doesn't need the money?  Look at what Bloomberg did for NYC.
  7. When Tom Foley closed companies, I am pretty sure he was doing his job at the time and making decisions that benefited the board of directors or stock holders who depend on you doing the best thing for them.  He was not the governor of the state, closing companies, he was an investor that either turned companies around or took under performing companies and stopped the bleeding. 
One final point on wealth and how it is portrayed as unfair in our society:  What ever happened to the American dream, where the one guy in your neighborhood had that shinny new, big Caddy that everyone noticed and was so envious to work hard to achieve that level of success.  It was the dream you pursued.  You knew the guy worked hard because he left early and came home late. Today, this success is considered over endulgence and so many believe it is not fair that everyone cannot have a luxury car, house, boat, pool, etc. 

My sister in law says it best (and yes, she is a TEACHER)--we all went to the same carrer day in the gym!  Some chose high risk, high reward-and yes high chance of failure.  Some chose weekends and summers off.  Some got lucky and some not so lucky.  That's the dream! Work hard, earn your luck or get knocked down and keep getting up, dust yourself off and try again.  Walt Disney went bankrupt 7 times before he made his mark (not just fortune) on this world.  Instead of feeling sorry for yourself, take control of your life and make a change if your not happy. Maybe you want more money or more vacation or more family time but ultimately, you decide your fate. 

Go vote!

Tuesday, October 28, 2014

On Ebola

This is just common sense.  If you have been in contact with Ebola as a health care worker or in any capacity in effected countries or our own country (usa) you should self quarantine for the 21 days of incubation.  If you decide not to, you should be forced to because you are potentially affecting others.  If you do not like this law-rule-policy, DONT COME TO THE USA OR DONT TRAVEL TO INFECTED COUNTRIES. If you are a health care worker trying to help solve  potential outbreaks in Africa, thank you for all your efforts, but you should know and understand these policies better then anyone else.

This is not a breach of your human rights for anyone that wants to hire a lawyer.

Your human rights are not more important then others human rights!  This is common sense.  If you have the flu-don't go to work.  Maybe if people had this common sense, less people would die of the flu in the USA.

This is just COMMON SENSE!