Friday, March 1, 2019

"This is the second time this month I had to bribe someone in a foreign country"-Jen

More to come on the title in a bit.  Dad decided he wanted Italian tonight so he asked the Spanish speaking desk clerk, in English, with a Spanish accent, in South America, "where is an Italian restaurant?"  The ironic thing is we have been eating veal all week and he just figured that out at lunch.  We decided to take the advice of the front desk and off we went-4 blocks away.  Long enough for dad to get propositioned by a lady on the street, where he nicely responded, "I do not speak Spanish" once again in a Spanish accent.  While walking, Jen found a door key on the sidewalk and as she picked it up and put on the stoop (trying to be helpful), the homeless guy on the stoop took the key and I am sure will be trying every door in the area for some time.

Dinner was great, except for the horrible service and although I believe it was a little b/c of the language barrier, our waiter was really rude.  At the end, he asked us to tip (he knows how to say tip in english).  We decided to leave a tip in $2 American bills (they will have no idea what to even do with it and neither will the Banco).   I am getting used to my new purse and all the compartments but I am still trying to figure out a way to put on my chair without forgetting it.  I decided to loop the handle through my belt loop so when I get up, it comes with me.   A lot of people wear purses here and I know my Uncle Bill wears one also.

The story of the purse--Started out as a lunch bag that was a gift to Jen from Kelly B.  I started carrying my cigars, cutter, lighter, business cards, sunglasses, etc. in my lunch/snack bag.  Then I put my wallet in there and it became a purse.  I know it sounds a little feminine, but it is so useful.  I have everything in one place at my beck and call.  I tried to put in a backpack to make more manly but it just didn't work.  So now I adopt the purse, no judgement please.

Even though I was not in Argentina with my parents in 69 or 2013, I feel like I was.  I am now even starting to adopt their stories for my own.

Side note--calling all electricians(Gary too!), Argentina needs you before electrical fires burn the city down.

Got home from dinner and decided to pack that night as we were leaving really early for the Gaucho day and then off to Mendoza that evening.  I actually made a list (6 days) and then packed which is a different tactic then Jen used, which was throw shit into a bag.  I would like to give a shout out to the swedes for inventing foolproof facial recognition that even works when my eyes are half open on my phone.  Morning came fast and guess who was up, checked out and at breakfast by 7:30 AM--Thats right, Jen and me!   Mom and Dad were saying it was loud the night before with a bunch of kids partying and I did not have the courage to tell them that was Jen and me.

We got picked up by Diego (originally from Paris, France) for our day in Gaucho country, and he was awesome.   He was a Spanish speaking Ricky Bobby.  We toured a small town and then to the ranch, where we ate, danced, sang, rode horses, etc.  I was the best horse rider and could turn my horse on a dime.  Jen got a little jealous when the hottest Gaucho wife around asked me to dance with her (remember, I am classically trained).  I decided not to wear my purse and left it in the car as I was unsure what type of cowboys the Gaucho's were.  In the old west, I think I would have gotten made fun of or even shot.  It turned out these Gaucho's were very nice.   We found out the Spanish killed their Indians (natives) also (for the land).  They performed some south American weird, erotic, massage technique on the horse to show us how they train the horses (different then US where we break them).  The horse based on my observation, really enjoyed it, if you know what I mean.  Great food, plenty of vino and a great day.  Back in the car back to BA and I was asleep in 2 min.  Back to Hotel and onto airport to Mendoza with the best cab driver yet, although he was 6'8" and weight 320 lbs (mom was jammed in behind him).  I only had a 100 pesos so I gave it to him and mom yelled at me to get change (it is literally $2.50).

Airport-I got poles through no problemo!  Shout out to Suarez for finally pulling his weight and scoring to win Barca game 3-0 (sorry Javi :).  The loading of the plane was the same shit show it has been and Jen did pick the wrong line again (Nancy 1, Jen 0).  There is zero security here.  I literally carried 2 bags, a backpack, purse (my parents bag, when they let me), Jen has no problem letting me carry her bag.  They call the different sections, we walk down the jet way and get into a bus and all order is gone at that point, dropped into tarmac and we are lucky to get on the right plane.  It was a calm flight which is great b/c I had my F ing elbow hovering over the armrest the middle seat lady stole and pretended to sleep.   The ironic part is, she had no idea that she was going to be my human shield in the event of a crash.  Two can play at this game so after I got back from El Bano, I got both armrests and man-spreaded like a man?  Listen, I am in no way saying I am skinny but I cannot walk down isle straight.  Its not my belly, it is actual bone.  I used to dread sitting next to a big person on a plane and all that time, I was that guy.  I also created a new club which ironically is called "the mile high club" but different from the more popular club with the same name. :)  They all clap when the pilot lands the plane and I like that and wish we did all the time in US.

Landed and walked out of airport (using visual cues) til we were stopped and had to put our bags through a machine to check for fruits.  Shit, all I could think about was the prunes and if they would go through.  They did and dad had no idea he almost lost them.  Off the plane and most people look for a bathroom but not dad, we were looking for a wine store which in retrospect, would have made my night a lot easier if we found one.

RENTAL CAR--We have never rented a car in a foreign country and it was the most thorough explanation I have ever gotten.  Got full insurance that we found out does not cover roll overs, hail or tires.  Got a full explanation of car as if we were buying it and right in the middle of process, dad walks in and says, "Hey, remember the Alamo" and starts laughing.  The guy says, "que?" and dad says, "what" and this goes on for a few minutes (which turns out to be crucial minutes we could have used later).  I am an excellent foreign driver and only had to yell at mom for backseat driving 1 time on the way to the apartment.  Got settled after searching for a wine store and anyone that knows Mickey, knows that at 11 pm no matter what, even if he was sleeping since 9, needs to have 1 glass of red wine, which we did not have and it was 11 PM (which we learned later is a crucial time for alcohol in Argentina).

Now the story of bribe-Jen and I set off to find wine at 11 PM for dad.  We turned the TV on before we left.  After finding out that you cannot take away wine after 11 anywhere, we had a dilemma.  Do we go back and get dad, who is most likely in his underwear by now plus its a long distance.  We decide we are going to try and bribe someone to risk their license for a bottle of wine--The American Way!  The issue is after 3 shops, we found one guy willing to play ball, but the policia are all around.  I get a beer and sit at table while we negotiate and wait for Policia to leave area.  The translator friend comes to me 20 min later and says, "you still want wine?" and after $100 American dollar bill and paying 500 pesos, we walk out with the most expensive bottle of wine ever sold in Mendoza (it was horrible by the way).  Feeling proud and pea cocking all the home, avoiding the policia, we completed our mission.  As for the title, Jen had to bribe a locksmith in Milan last week to copy a key that said DO NOT COPY.   You can't make this shit up!  I feel like I am in the movie, Rainman, and every character is Dustin Hoffman.  Back to room, 1 hr later (12:30PM) and parents were still trying to figure out TV.  Problem solved, bed at 2, up at 6 to scavenger for food for Dad in streets with no money left (used all for wine).

The apartment is brand new and really nice, except it did not have a bed side table or lamp for my mom which was an easy problem to solve.  Got some supplies and had my mom's coffee that Jen prepared for me and then I almost threw up (later to find out Jen put salt in instead of sugar).  I am now proclaiming that I am bringing a french press, coffee and supplies with me anytime I leave the US (thanks Sarah).  For crying out loud, can someone get the F ing Kuerig to other countries?

Off to wine tastings, lunch, etc and on the way looking for money.  We figured out why there is a line out the door at all banks.  They run out of money everyday and people do not like to keep a lot of money b/c the inflation can kill you.  Missed the first winery but was able to reschedule for later in the day and our lunch was Perfecto (thanks Erin).  Dad does not get the concept of wine tastings and after a few glasses he said, I am done.  He took a nap on the couch while we did a tour.  I asked Dad if he liked any one wine better then another and he said, "I like them all. " Jen drove home and I was asleep in 2 min.  Back to apartment at 6 and off to the supermarket through the dangerous streets of Mendoza (see pics).  Every step dad takes could be his last.  Still trying to track my Fed Ex package and even though I want to blame Angie, I don't think that is fair.  We are running on fumes!  Will try and solve today which will be a car ride into mountains and maybe some more wine!


























No comments:

Post a Comment