Monday, February 12, 2018

Chattanooga Choo Choo

On our way to Atlanta to see Marlo, Roberto, Emma, Gabby and Sophie but had to stop to walk Jen in Chattanooga on the way.  "Ain't no on got time for a wreck so slow it down."  On a quest to see the Choo Choo, which we did not actually see.  Pulling off highway in 65' flag to downtown Chattanoga.  We got to the busiest intersection you could believe when we got the news, Abby got into grad school in Brussels!  This was so great to hear and as I mentioned earlier, Abby was concerned she wouldn't get in and we were concerned she would get in. She will spend half a year in Belgium and the other half in Brazil and receive a Masters in Fashion Marketing.  To be honest, I wish we would have found out about this incredible news 5 minutes later because the second the text came in, Jen took my phone off the dash along with the map of where we could and could not go with our monstrosity to find a parking spot.   She said it might be her son texting and it would only take a minute.  Luckily I was able to drive around in a circle around downtown and bridges until Jen was able to read the text and then re text everyone she knew before giving me my map back.  Classic Jen!

Good walk in downtown and off to Atlanta or actually Marietta which is 10 times the size of Atlanta. You can drive 50 minutes and still be in Marietta.  I cannot think of any town or city even that you could drive almost one hour and still be in that same city.  Got into RV site in Marietta and settled and off to dinner with Berto and Gabby.  Their new house is great except for a few pieces of moulding that do not line up correctly (which apparently Roberto will fix soon).   We got into his new Toyota Avalon (flagship of the Toyota fleet) and off to the best dinner in the world at Chicago.  Gabby drove home and did an excellent Job.  Had a quick drink with Marlo and set up meeting to hike mount Kennesaw in the am with berto and gabby.  In the Am, the rain was light so we met at the mountain and began hike (no gabby).  We hiked up to the top and down to the bottom when we realized we were on the complete other side of the park and either had to go back the way we came or around to car.  Good choice gabby!  Went home but stopped to get a full blown southern haircut on the way.

We met for a late lunch at Pappasito's, the most unbelievable Mexican restaurant.  Berto and I had the lovers valentines special with lobster, meat, shrimp, etc.  It was awesome.  I ate enough chips and salsa to choke a burro.  Went home and tried to fall a sleep but i was way to full of Mexican and Emma was working on my nails.  Went to the coke suite for Black Comic Night at the arena and it was really fun.  Food, drinks (IPA-thanks Vic) and hard to hear jokes.  We had a blast but it was a late night for even us on our renaissance tour.

We woke up at 10 AM and scrambled to get out for our long journey to Hobe Sound to see Jackie and Steve.  Great ride and Jen even drove a bit but 10 hours was a loooong ride.  I tried to sleep but kept waking up when i heard Wayz say, "watch out, pothole ahead." and then in about 10 seconds i feel our rig reenter the atmosphere.   Anyway, got parked and settled and will write next blog on Tuesday but it will be GREAT because we are with Jackie and Steve for the next few days.









No comments:

Post a Comment