Wednesday, November 15, 2017

Oh, Shit, I immediately regret doing that!

Woke up and picked up Arky (hopefully for the last time this trip).  Guess what, we made the bed together today!!!!!   We showered and walked to Graceland.   What an awesome tour.  I knew nothing about Elvis and probably because I was 7 when he died.  He was amazing and so was the tour.   I am glad we visited Graceland and we learned a lot. What a legend.

I love Elvis's Logo of TCB and the lightning sign which stands for taking care of business and fast.  I even bought a few glasses to remind me of this.

Onto Gibson guitar factory, and were blown away.  I have been to many US factories and this was the best.  3-5 weeks to build a guitar and it is touched by so many people.  97% perfection and the 3% is never sent out of factory (they destroy the defects so they never show up anywhere).  Makes me happy to pay 5k for a guitar and to the people that buy Chris Craft boats, 6 week is nothing.   I wish they had music playing from the people that use Gibson guitars to build the mood but they did not.  The tour guide really liked Jen, which was evident by the huge boner he had poking through his pants for the entire tour.

The funny thing about us is when I am driving, the air conditioner is on high and the minute we switch, the first thing Jen does before she even puts her seat belt on is turn the heat on high.  I guess opposites do attract.  On the road we talked to Abba who apparently may get home before we do.  Anyway, she was telling us one of her friends just got a job and only makes 70k a year with a small sign on bonus of 3k.  Plus the job is boring.  I hope she comes and runs marina as i think she will be really good at it but who knows.  It was a little tough to understand her because I guess she was climbing a set of stairs and COMPLETELY out of breath.  She commented that she was a little out of shape (no shit).  Cant wait to get her home and detox her for the week of thanksgiving.  We will have all the kids home for Thanksgiving which will be awesome.

Pulled into Nashville and we have this whole thing down to a science.  In 10 minutes, we are set up, dogs walked, sat tv tuned in, jeep off, etc.  We are like pro's.  A lot of people have husband and wife teams with walkie talkies while backing in, setting up and we just do it.  Maybe because we are 25 years younger then everyone here.  Took the $10 shuttle into Nashville and had dinner at the Acme-after we went to one place the and they did not have music.  I really wish they had adopted my NY waitress staff.  It was so confusing because the waitress could get us drinks but not dinner. We had to go order dinner somewhere else and get it delivered.  Weird but we were able to figure out.    Had a few drinks and moved onto another bar with great 80's music.  After I presented my ID to the bouncer we went in.

Here is the best part of the night.  Everyone is dressed in Nashville cowboy boots, flannel shirts, and bar wear and sitting next to them is Jen, wearing her Sub Zero Canada Goose Down Full Length Jacket with wolf fur collar.  She was a little cold.    Walked into bathroom and interviewed the attendant after I had to pee between 2 huge black guys on ether side of me (I took the middle urinal).  Asked him about the position, and he answered a lot of questions I had.

Then I made one of the biggest mistakes in my life. (For the record, Jen hates to be the center of attention, surprises or anything like this--and I know this). I had a great idea since I did not have any good presents for Jen's birthday, I decided to buy her a shot of fire ball and at the same time buy the band a shot also (because she liked them).  I immediately regretted decision and when the singer announced Jen's Birthday, I knew I was screwed.  How did I fix? I said, "no, its my birthday not Jen's" and continued on to buy everyone in the bar a shot of Fireball (which I did a quick head count and then immediately regretted).  You don't have to be best friends with Jen to know I fucked up big time.  I apologized profusely and she forgave me.  I think the worst part is Jen's birthday present was shots for a bar full of people she did not know.   I am an idiot!  In my defense, I was drinking.

Note-Score was an A and I even had Coke at the bar a few times (after Jen's proofreading, the grade has been downgraded to a C-I got lost, sat next to a rat and held her hand all the way home-go figure, I thought that was romantic).  Now, finding a cool bar is one thing but finding a candy store with sub zero is like finding a pot of gold being held by a leprechaun at the end of a rainbow (can you say leprechaun?).   The thing about these candy stores are they are super expensive but compared to what you just paid at the bar, it seems cheap to spend $20 on candy. $20 is a shit ton of candy and subzero, had her halloween bag of candy in the bar which could not have made her happier.    The first thing I saw at the candy store was a huge candy apple and thought about getting that but then felt like I would look like the guy in Disney eating the huge turkey leg (alex) and decided against it.    I always wonder how these boutique candy stores stay in business but now I totally get it.

Look at the lady with the hockey jersey on-it looks like she is actually wearing a helmet.  Also, wtf is the intravenous add in the bathroom.  I am totally going to open a business that does that (Jen's nursing license will come in handy).

Finally, I solved the homeless problem in America.  We have seen thousands of abandoned travel trailers across the USA and miles and miles of unused, useless property.  How about taking all those trailers and putting them in the useless land and making a homeless camp.  Just a thought.

Onto Harrisonburg to round out our tour and get home.

Shout out to Chris for getting his first contract and deposit on a boat.  He will be great once I am done grooming him.  Congrats but lets not count the money until we get the money (knock on wood).
















No comments:

Post a Comment