Monday, November 13, 2017

Walking in Memphis, literally...

So, I am not going to tell you that we slept to 9:30 Am this morning.  The worst part about this is that all of our fellow RV'ers are 20 years older then us and most likely get up at 4 am for the day so when we get up at 9:30 (sickening), they have been up for hours.  Dora and Lupe seem to be fine with sleeping in though.  So lets just say we didn't get an early start to the day and after yesterday (not walking Jen), I had to make sure to get to Memphis in time to take her for a walk or it was not going to be good for me.  We got in to the Graceland RV park at 5 PM and it is literally across the street from Graceland.  We are going to tour in the am and head to Beale Street tonight to walk 5 and eat dinner.

Besides the area right around Beale Street, the rest of Memphis is a little risky or "up and coming."  We walked and fended off the beggars by asking them for money.  It works great.  They walk up to you and say, "..." but before they do, you say, "hey can you spare a dollar or two?"  Works every time.  Finished our walk and went to diner at BB Kings (sorry Missy, we were already sitting when you texted me) and it was great.  Good blues music, good bbq and really slow service (normal for the south).  I feel like in a tourist town, there should be tourist waitstaff that caters to the people who are visiting.  So for example, if you are from NY, you get a NY paced waiter.  Just a thought.  We decided after dinner to go to Coyote Ugly and If I told you you Jen danced on the bar and did a full split while singing Bon Jovi, I would be lying to you.  She did not!   Bottom line: I don't know if we are cut out for late night drinking and dancing like so many other couples.  Don't get me wrong, I can drink all night long with the best of them but the loud music and bar atmoospehere is not our forte.  I would like to say we like to go to bed early and wake up early but the beginning of this blog discredits that statement.

Jen forgot to charge her fit bit last night.  This is great.  She will take off charger in the middle of the night when she walks the 3 steps to the bathroom so she does not lose steps and then re charge.  I am living with a crazy pscyco path-THAT I LOVE TO DEATH.

I am not ashamed to say, I like light music and you all can make fun of me if you want to.  Soft rock, ballads, duets, love songs, etc are in my wheel house.  I tried to find Jen a dance song for 10 minutes yesterday at our dance party for 2(Abby, I need you to make me a new playlist for these nights).

Whats the deal with the bathroom attendant?  I always feel weird when they are in there but obligated to tip at least 1 dollar.  Then today, I went in and someone was taking a crap.  That to me should be at least a 5 dollar tip as that guy has to sit in their the whole time.  The worst part about it was I went into my wallet and all I had was 20's and 100's and it took me a few minutes to find a crumpled up dollar bill (I hope the guy did not notice?).

Tomorrow is Jen's birthday and I am really screwed.  I didn't expect to be away this long and I do not have anything for her.  I was thinking of going to the gift shop at the RV place and getting some sweatshirts or Elvis stuff but remembered when my sister in law, Jessee, forgot about Alex's birthday and went to the local pharmacy and bought all the "as seen on TV" stuff from the shelf.  I decided that I will just let her do whatever she wants to me on her birthday (thankless gift!).  We will see how that goes over tomorrow.  I wish I had a box so I could do the Justin Timberlake, dick in the box skit but do not have one.  The only time we have apart from each other is when we go to the bathroom or when Jen walks the dog.  Tough to build surprises if you know what I mean.

Memphis- Liked the downtown immediate streets and vibes a lot.  Like the music but think I will like country in Nashville more then blues in Memphis.  I always thought of Stevie Ray Vaughn as early rock not blues?  What do I know, I like Delilah music.

One full soda spill-blamed on Lupe.  Sorry about the crappy pictures.  The rainbow pic is for KK and  notice that Jen got an extra wet wipe from the bbq place so if we end up "dry camping" again, she can get a clean shower.





No comments:

Post a Comment