Woke up and made my half of the bed. Our up to date plans are to get out early so we can make up some time to get East. We got out by 7:30 AM (earliest so far). We had breakfast on the go; I had cheese and summer sausage and Jen actually cooked eggs while driving at 80 mph down the highway. No more glasses broke on the speed bumps on the way out but Jen looked like she was doing that carnival game, hit the mole, moving from side to side catching stuff and holding doors shut. They put the speed bumps at angles so you cannot go over them smoothly and it violently shakes the Rig back and forth.
I am going to stop by the first Verizon store I see and chuck my MIFI through their window. It sucks so bad and I even tested it out before the trip. Maybe I should fix the headlights first--Priorities. One of the nicest things about this RV thing is that anyone that knows Jen has seen how many times she pees in a day. When traveling anywhere (grocery store, CVS, OBX, etc) she will stop to take a pee. Many times, we will stop at a rest area and she will pee once when we get there and once before we leave. Bathroom on RV--Problem solved. I feel like this saves us about 2 hours of stops per day (Steve you should look into putting a bathroom in your car for JD-you will not be disappointed).
After my cheese platter for breakfast, we made some great time and were planning on getting to Lake Meade for the night (550 miles-Mickey Benchimol mileage). Looking for places to walk Jen before dark and since we were going through the desert, it was a little tough. Jen said,"maybe we should see what shows are playing in Las Vegas?" I replied, "I thought you hated Vegas?" She responded, "I do but I like shows and it might be a nice change of pace." I said, "ok, you can look for a place or at bare minimum, maybe we can do our 5 mile walk on the strip and head to Lake Meade." The next part was a little of a blur but I do remember her saying, "do you like Carrot Top?" I responded, "NO!" She then listed a bunch of people I have never heard of and I thought we were on the same page and decided to to walk in Vegas and go onto Lake Meade.
Parking in Vegas with a 62' Flag is not an easy task. Jen found from Trip Advisor, that we could park at convention center and guess what? After a little close quarter moves, we parked 100 feet from Las Vegas Blvd for FREE! We changed into our "dress" walking gear and headed on our walk. At first, I thought everything was great. The weather was warm and really nice. About 8 minutes later, I inquistedly (my own word) asked Jen, "hey, is everything ok, you seem angry?" Jen's response was and abrupt, "yea, you're a dick and I do everything you want to do and when I want to go to a show and stay somewhere different you do not want to and I am not going to go somewhere you do not want to go. You have planned everything and I did it all and all I want to do is go to Las Vegas and a show."
Oh, ok, I didn't realize you wanted to do this. For years we have both stated we have hated Vegas as it is not a town for us. We do not like to gamble, stay up late or the hustle and bustle of all the people. We have been there a few times and have both agreed it was not a stop on our trip. I immediately responded, "honey, we can stay and go to a show if you want, I just thought you did not want to." Granted, I did not want to go to Carrot Top but I do go to most of the shows Jen wants to go to. I always wanted to go to an Excalibur horse jousting event and would have done that. Long story short, Jen understood my point and decided to let me off the hook after I apologized for about 3.5 miles. We had a nice walk down the strip. On the way back, we remembered why we hate Vegas. It was sad to see a few memorials and signs that said VEGAS STRONG all over but business is as usual in VEGAS.
I hate the slapping cards being handed to you at every corner, the exact same shops in every casino (Prada, Gucci, Rolex, ETC.), everyone is a tourist and it takes 10 minutes to cross the street. We even looked for a pot store as weed is legal in Nevada now but no luck on the strip.
Got back to the Flag and it was still there and dogs were too! We then decided, we are in Nevada and when in Rome, so we drove to a Weed Dispensary, parked the Flag (not right in front) and went in to investigate. We were interested in getting something for Beema to help her ringing and that is the only reason we went. It is unbelievable and there is a full menu of products to buy when you meet your specialist. We ended up getting some cream that will make you feel "good" if you are sore. They also had a bath bomb but I was scared to get it because I thought Jen would find me dead in the tub. The guy was super nice and may or may not have said we were the biggest sale of the day. Of course to my children who may or may not be reading this blog, none of this really happened and I am trying to make the blog funny. Sorry JD.
On the way to the campsite (1hr) of course in the dark. I have to drive at 45 MPH to see in front of me until a car comes zooming by at 75 and I accelerate to try and keep up for a bit to follow tail lights until I lose them and back to 45 mph. Following trucks is the best but sometimes hard to find. We are really going to try and fix tomorrow but I think it is going to be pretty involved, not just changing bulb. If I see a comparable RV, I could steal the part in 30 seconds but have not seen a comparable Rig. We cannot afford to lose a half a day or we are screwed coming home. Not so many pictures, sorry.
No comments:
Post a Comment