Ok, so I am going to make this into a two day blog. Bryce Canyon and Arches National Park. NOT, decided to make it a one day blog so it only takes 5 min to read. Woke up in Zion and did some actual work this morning. We had good wifi and Jen was able to get on the computer and work. Work is for horses, (as quoted by AC). Packed up and drove away but got a good glimpse at the Roping demo our neighbors told us about. They told us the last RV requested to move because they were so loud and when we went to renew our site for one more night, it was unavailable and had to move. Aka-awkward, especially when they walked their dog that night. We told them the RV place made us move but I am sure they did not believe us. Bottom line is I ate the Venison. On the way out, we saw the roping dummy and had to take a picture. We will be back in Vegas to see them professionally rope the cattle at the finals. On to Byrce Canyon, via Zion Canyon, but had to turn around because of a tunnel that was 10' high. Wayz does not take this into account (Nancy Benchimol would have known and it would have been in her trip-tic). Turned around and headed to towards Bryce Canyon or as I call it the Valley of Dicks (seriously, look at the pictures). It is so beautiful and when we got there, you would have thought we went the wrong way. Normally, we approach a huge mountain, cliff, or something and park looking at our hike in front of us. This time, we see nothing as we are at 8000 feet and are hiking down into a canyon (IE reverse money shot). It sucks to walk down first and up later but we did it and it was really so awesome. So different from anything we have seen.
It was cold and icy and a completely different environment from where we were 2 hours ago. The best part is the shuttles were not up and running so we drove the Flag into the park past all the signs that say, no RV's and parked right there. Worth the side trip!
I drove another 2 hours but was getting tired so Jen took over. She did great and we had about 10% more light from our broken Peddidle (Coxsackie word for one head light out). It was dark and when I finally fell asleep with both dogs on me (we gave in a bit but it was cold also) I awoke to the opening act of the truck running over rumble strips and looking over at Jen who was seat dancing like a champ. 70's, 80's, 90.s, 2k and Ed Sheeran songs and a full blown singing and dancing concert in the dark. The only thing she was not doing was speeding which was great because we can only see 10' in front of us. The best part was when YMCA came on and she was taking her hands off the wheel as well. I pictured my dogs as flying projectiles in the air and me taking a leak in the bathroom and falling out the side. It is crazy you do not need a special license to drive this thing!
One small soda spill but not bad as it is only non sugar soda. Oh, Richard had his baby, and I said, Richard who? and she said, Richard from the Howard Stern Show. Of course, remember they are like our relatives.
I finally got her to sit down and plan the rest of the trip home reasonably. We cannot drive at night too long and 10 hour days are tough. We are not going to make to Sully's Baptism but will be there in spirit (we will also send a gift). We have moved and changed appointments to make it work and put a plan together to get back in a reasonable time. To be honest (using Will's line), we are having fun and could do this for a few months. The fights seem to be slowing down which is coinciding with the amount of product left in the boxes (as far as I can see). More to come after Arches. I think they filmed the James Franco movie where he cut his arm off there.
No comments:
Post a Comment