Monday, October 16, 2017

"Game Day"

Game Day      

I thought about not writing the blog at all and just posting pictures and you can piece the story together but since there was no time stamp on the pictures, I thought it would be tough.  Let’s back track a little and remember our excursion to Walmart the night before in preparations for the “last day on earth” and we had enough party supplies to last a zombie apocalypse.  Now we move to 9 PM when a frantic Abby and Spez show up the Flag to pick up the Jeep because apparently the lot opened and there were only 12 spaces left for tailgating. 

Next morning (Sat AM)-Jen and I get up for our morning 5 miler at 6:45 AM (we had a tight schedule to be at Abby’s for pre, pre, pre tailgating at 9AM).  That is when we saw JMU students walking the streets in packs as if it was 11 pm after partying all day.   They were everywhere, all dressed in JMU (Although the girls looked a little RISKEY).  We walked the campus and found the Jeep (not towed) and continued on the Quad (We were going to streak but we would most likely have gotten onto national TV) where ESPN and 10k students were partying like it was the Wednesday before Thanksgiving.  Of course we hung which slowed our pace a bit but much worth it for the cool Insta we took.  We even found a Trombone to send a picture to Julian (There is always a T-bone).  Now back to the Flag to get ready for the day.

We arrived at Abby’s at about 930 and met Abby’s little Juliana who waited to meet us and probably missed out on a few drinks.  Then we met Emily Abby’s grand-little who was really nice although did not make it much further in the day due to being “over-served.”  Spez, who said he was going to get up at 4 am to start drinking, did not make it and was home.  Got to finally see Andrea who I really like.  He had made his pledges camp on the quad to hold a space for him which indecently, he never went to-sorry guys.  We started drinking (Jen had about 3 bottles of Mimosa’s as Abby did not let her cup get empty-you see, Jen had promised on Tuesday she would drink so there was no getting out of it.  I am not doing justice to the type of early party this was but hopefully the pictures will.  I took one picture of a party that was over at 8 am and had cups, bottles, etc all over the lawn.  We met up with Allison’s family and Sabs family and headed to the tailgate.   It reminded me of Woodstock.  Everything was going great, cold beer, slap cup, cigars, etc.   The best part about this entire day is that I do not believe one of these kids even knew what was going on in the football game.  I did not find out until 8 pm who even won the game—Of course JMU beat Vilanofun.

Now the walk home.  As many of you know, I have been hooked on IPA beer for some time now and a few weeks ago after my IPA intervention, I realized I cannot drink them as I do regular beer.  Well I have been doing really good for 2 weeks with A behavior (Jen grades me on a scale from A-F if I drink).  I was able to convince her to give me a D for the day after much debate.  At first it was an F but I did not take my wiener out and I did not get arrested or hit her so we both agreed that a D was a more accurate score.  The good news is my nephew told me that D’s get degrees (or was it C’s?).  Anyway, I was taking a little rest on the grass before our journey home (which I had to carry a heavy cooler) when the Po Po questioned my “abilities” and a young man named Jake decided to walk us home (1 mile).  He was really nice and even though I thought I could do it on my own, it was nice to have the company. 

Nap-3 hours

When I woke up I made my paramount mistake.  I opened another beer and stayed drinking, when I was in college the party would have went on into the night and these kids are all lightweights compared to my day.  Anyway, I was the only one that did this which led to my ultimate D for the day.  We decide to go to Buffalo Wild Wings for dinner and I was fine when we got there and after my first beer was ok as well until it was time to get my second when I was told they “ran out of beer” which actually meant they ran out of beer for me.  Anyway, this lowered my score for the day.

Sunday-

We woke up at 8 am and went for our 5 mile walk as usual and could not believe how quickly everything was cleaned up.  Even at Abby’s apartment complex which is like beyond thunder dome for partying was clean.  We walked the entire campus and stopped at Abby’s for breakfast.  We went to downtown Harrisonburg, which is really nice and went to a dozen places before we found one we did not have to wait 1 hour for.  At breakfast, Abby graded me a solid C and Spez gave me a B+ (he was impressed I got cut off at Buffalo Wild Wings).  So all in all, I got a C for the day and I did not embarrass anyone.  


Showered packed up and said our goodbyes and off to Columbus Ohio for the night.  Jen drove for the first time and she did great.  We went through the mountains of West Virginia and thought a crazy storm and decided to park in a Walmart for the night as we were just crashing and on to see Caitlin in MI.  We also decided we could live off the grid moving from Walmart to Walmart parking lots, never paying taxes or even overnight fee’s.  Just a thought. 























































No comments:

Post a Comment