Tried to leave at 9 am so we could make our hike an hour away and get to campground in Yellowstone by 5 pm. Left after 10 and drove to our planned hiking route but could not find it after 20 min of looking (that means driving the 60' RV and jeep thorough all kinds of small streets and neighborhoods), so we left and got back on 90W. On the way, we called a few campgrounds to get a reservation. NEWS FLASH. East gate entrance of Yellowstone is CLOSED due to snow for the season and the only way in is from the North coming from Montana. Chains required on all vehicles entering park. Plan change we are headed south now to Salt Lake City Through Casper WY.
The good news is we made an impromptu stop at Devils Tower and hiked there instead. Really unbelievable and I totally remember going as a kid. Could not stop whistling the Close Encounters Theme Song. Oh, and we brought a back pack, water, provisions, and a knife in case we needed to cut one of our arms off if they got caught in a rock slide. Next time we are adding a belt to list so we can have a tournquit. Ate lunch in the RV right next to 5000 prairie dogs and our dumb dogs did not even notice. They bark at a leaf blowing in the wind but not this. My brother Pete and his friend Ted are going to climb the tower on their next trip. There were about 20 climbers and winds were so strong I cannot believe they were there.
Speaking of wind, the speed limit is 80 mph but we cannot keep rig anywhere over 70 with the crazy winds. I do not know how the truckers do it because I feel like i am on the most uncontrollable ride of my life. So windy, our canopy opened up while driving on the highway. Heard bang and pulled off because there were no ramps. Climbed up on top and was scared to death as it was blowing 50 mph and anyone that knows me, knows I am afraid of heights. Had to open up awning and re coil and then tape with duct tape hanging over the side of the top. Thought i would have to just cut it and lose it so a better outcome.
Side note- I am writing blog at night now so we can try and get going quicker in the am. Just had to walk to laundry to get our clothes (first laundry) and it is 20 degrees and so windy it is like a hurricane. All day today we saw signs saying high wind alert tomorrow SUNDAY from 6-6 (not looking forward to our drive). Anyway, it is flipping freezing here and I did laundry and took a shower far away (Dad 180 steps!). Laundry done, dinner done, camper heat on, hoping water does not freeze, writing blog. 11:30 PM.
Driving here in the wind and dark is so crazy and we cannot see anything. We decided not to try and do night time if possible. We both took showers (its been 2 days and OCD is getting a little crazy). There is literally a bold listing in the campground flyer saying WY wind is unpredictable and do not open your awnings (no issue for me as mine is wrapped in duct tape).
So we changed our plans a bit and now onto Salt Lake City then to Tahoe, then to San Fran to meet Glenn and maybe Alex and Jessie for some wine tasting, (hopefully catch up with my cousin Pam and Eric in LA) then to LA, then to Yosemite then to Joshua, then to Grand Canyon, then to Zion, then to Arches, then to Denver, then to ... Who knows what happens.
We definitely want to hit Napa and the Caymus Winery as we heard there is a fire sale (lol). Oh, had our second to last pancake today so we are going to be on to eggs soon. We did eat the chili Jen made which was great. Having some wine now but I won't get a grade because Jen and girls are passed out with their asses out on the couch.
How about me doing 2 loads of laundry. Pretty, pretty, pretty impressive. Need to get the rig cleaned before CA as it is bug filled up front and diesel soot on back. Surprisingly not so many comments on the huge flag driving around. Where is the patriatic spirit in this country. I had more comments about my property of my hot wife shirt. Very surprised. The wind is so strong I am sitting in RV and it is moving from side to side with stabilizers down in a campground between other RV's (Jen still dead asleep).
.. Devils tower looks cool....can't believe people climb that!! Jen looks all bundled up....Stay warm! xo
ReplyDelete