Well, not exactly. Jen had her FULL suit of armor on last night (not just the usual sweat pants, zipper down hoodie and wool socks) including hat, gloves and I think her shoes? AND definitely her mouth guard. I literally thought I was going to wake up to complete destruction of the campground and everything blown away. How the hell did the Indians (or native Americans) live through these winters. It is still the fall and freezing. We are not even in the mountains. Anyway, woke up to a beautiful sunrise (see pics below) and RV still standing, although there were times I thought it would fall over.
I am going to include a few shots of the inside of the RV so you can see the Glamping lifestyle were are becoming accustomed to. Besides fixing a few things everyday, it really is like traveling in a house.
We are running low on Diet Coke Vanilla and this is scaring me. I had 24 twelve packs stowed away and nervous that we will start to run low soon. Not sure how to let Jen know about this other then to tell her. We can get diet sunkist anywhere but Matt the coke guy is the only one that supplies us the Vanilla diet coke. Will deal with when we cross that bridge. Removed CB antenna and re taped the awning before leaving but it was FREEZING this morning. Diesel was so slow pumping, my hands were falling off. On the road at 9 am!
What the fuck with the trains? When I stay in Coxsackie, I get woken up overnight with the freight trains blowing their horns like crazy. I know TJ used to do it to his kids but why the hell do the train conductors need to blow the horns? There is a a barricade and they don't stop anyway. Jen does not hear it but I hear every friggen one.
We left dodge because it was freezing and on to warmer areas. Onto Salt Lake City. Jen is using the dogs as living furs to keep her warm. They are driving me crazy, and I would rather drive then have them on me. They will only both sit on whoever the passenger is's lap. You are a prisoner to the dogs.
When driving I heard a loud bang and asked Jen what it was and she replied that the valance came loose and was hitting the wall. Little did I know that the previous owner of the RV must have either been a recreational user of cocaine or a drug smuggler because when I stopped I found a paper wrapped cocaine wrapper on the floor. We both examined and did a full CSI on it (dipping our pinkie in the powder and rubbing it in our lower lip to verify the quality of the substance-Unfortuinatly, we do not know what we are looking for or what should happen next) - This obviously did not happen but we were glad our dogs did not find. Glad we did not get pulled over before this.
Got to Salt Lake City, passing Park City (which was a cool ski town) and parked in an RV park and got settled. Very nice RV park but not really camping but close to SLC. Left to to Downtown and do our walk but there is no downtown. It is uptown and surrounded by the Mormons Church of Latter Day Saints and a really weird vibe. We had lunch at the Cheesecake Factory and decided to walk the town for our 5 miles.
NOTE: No one ever said to me "...Oh, you have to go to Salt Lake City, it is so unbelievable..." I have heard this about so many other places like, Savannah, Burlington, OBX, and so many other places but NEVER Salt Lake City-Well that is because it is weird here. I do not know what it is but it is like a circus came to town and we are not in it. No one says hello and no one looks you in the eye. I can't put my finger on it and I felt like we stuck out like sore thumbs but defiantly not Jen's new place to live.
Home to cooking on the grill finally with steaks and a salad. Plans have evolved and we are going to Nevada tomorrow, Carson City Tuesday, Tahoe Wednesday, Napa Thursday.
Oh, when I left the campground I was able to drop our garbage off without getting out of the Rig! Starting tomorrow we are not rushing anymore (except on the way home).
The one thing I read about our campground tonight is that sometimes the wind blows and it smells bad from the Shit factory up the street but still got 3.5 stars. Guess what, smells like shit now. Happy to get out of this town tomorrow. Onto the real west coast. No comments on the Flag today and a bunch of people walked by our RV. What is up with the patriotic nature of our community? I still love it and would not change it for the world. Every other RV is boring and looks the same. I remember after 9-11 when everyone had flags up and all over and everyone was so patriotic. I miss those times. I put us flags on all my company trucks right after that. Why is the American flag not what it used to be?
Oh, I found Johnny IPA beer in Utah and it was really great and only 4% which is great for an IPA that is usually so strong I can only brink a few. Got an A+ again but Jen dd fall asleep before report cards?
No comments:
Post a Comment